Unexpected Journey (Short Story)

180410130023/C

Summary : The journey starts because a mysterious woman with his paper.

UNEXPECTED JOURNEY

“Go on ! Hit me if you want to, Jerk !” sound of the women was yelling.

“Get out from this house ! Right now !” sound of the man was replying with high tone.

A couple had a quarrel in the living room. Their son heard that crowded sound in the bed room.

“Argh ! I wish I can free from that sound that makes me freaking stress.” he told it in his heart.

He was laying on the bed and read the book about beautiful scenes, places, and greatest things in the world. Yes, it was a book about traveling.

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. Hmm, Sounds great !” the sound of someone was reading the book.

He packed his shirts and stuffs. When the night came, he sneaked into back door and left away.

It was Brama Maulana. People called him Bram. He got a big enthusiasm in travelling. Now, he decided to go to Bandung. The situation in his home didn’t make him feel comfortable. He went to the train station that near from his home.

“Oh God, it’s 2 am and I’m outside the house and will go to the place that I’ve never visited before. But, it will be amazing adventure for me.” he was always optimistic about everything he faced. It didn’t matter about bad things.

He came to the train booth to bought a ticket. After that, he looked for seat and waited for the train came. He found out in his cellphone internet about apartments that existed in near station of Bandung.

“Got it! It will be in Braga. Let’s go !” he said. And finally, the train was came and he went into train. 15 minutes after that, the train left.

Bram sat in seat 49C. He sat in front of the woman, young woman with blue jacket and beanie. He started a conversation.

“So cold by the way in here.” He talked with a little shy.

“Oh, yes. I’ve been sitting here about 4 hours. My back is so bit painful.” She replied.

“Where are you going ? why do you go alone ?” he asked her with curious.

“I’m going to Malang. I have to visit my granma. He was passed away yesterday.” She talked with a little sad face.

“Oh, I’m sorry. Be toughful, okay.” Bram replied.

They talked all the way until they slept in their seat each other. The woman left seat when Bram was still slept. Nobody knew where she was. She left with a piece of paper that stored in a little table below a window.

In the different side of life, there was a man that looked for job but he never got. It had been 2 years. He lived alone in the little home at Palasari, Bandung. He lived alone when his parents passed away when he was in junior high school

After Shalat Subuh, he always prayed to God that he had to get a job for surviving his life.

“Amin.”he said, in the end of his pray. He cleaned up his home before he started to find a job.

“It’s 5 am and I have to find a job for now. God, please guide me to best place.” He said with full of hopes.

He went out his home and walking around the city to complete his mission. He walked through a long road. But, in the corner of the street, he met a woman, young woman. She looked so confuse. Irfan asked her.

“May I help you, Ma’am ?” Irfan asked.

“Emm, I’m little bit in confuse. Could you please open this letter and read it for me ?” the woman replied.

Go to Malang right now and you’ll find what you look for. It was written on the letter.

“Should I go now ?” He asked again, and now he was confuse. The woman was dissapeared from his side.

“Oh, God. What’s that ?” He scared.

He went to the Train Station as soon as possible and bought a ticket to Malang. He got the ticket and he had to wait the train came.

“In the name of God, I hope it will the answer of my question for a long time.” He said.

When the train came, he entered and looked for his seat. After walked along carriage of train, he met a man. He sat in front of his seat and asked.

“May I sit here ?” he asked.

“Sure.” A man replied.

Irfan was curious about the paper that held by him. Then Irfan asked his name.

“Hi, Sir. What’s your name ?” Irfan asked.

“Oh, Hallo. I’m Bram.” He replied.

“Why do you have that paper ? I have too. Who gave you that ?” He asked again and showed his paper.

“Oh ya, these are same. When I was in a trip, someone kept it here. So, I tried to believe the paper and going to place that written in the paper.” Bram asked with calm down.

“The woman said that if I go to Malang, I will find my answer about the question for a long time. So, let’s go to Malang !” Irfan replied with energic feeling.

“Okay, let’s start our adventure right now !” Bram joined what Irfan said.

All the way of trip, they talked about their life each other, joked, and laughed about the similarities of the paper that given by the mysterious woman. It was still mystery by the way.

THE END

Reference :

A quote by Lao Tzu

A song titled A Thousand Miles by Vanessa Carlton

Word Count : (924)

Link for work dramatization : https://soundcloud.com/girli-fazri/unexpected-journey

On Wed, Apr 29, 2015 at 12:00 AM, Girli Fazri <fazri07> wrote:

Summary : The journey starts because a mysterious woman with his paper.

UNEXPECTED JOURNEY

“Go on ! Hit me if you want to, Jerk !” sound of the women was yelling.

“Get out from this house ! Right now !” sound of the man was replying with high tone.

A couple had a quarrel in the living room. Their son heard that crowded sound in the bed room.

“Argh ! I wish I can free from that sound that makes me freaking stress.” he told it in his heart.

He was laying on the bed and read the book about beautiful scenes, places, and greatest things in the world. Yes, it was a book about traveling.

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. Hmm, Sounds great !” the sound of someone was reading the book.

He packed his shirts and stuffs. When the night came, he sneaked into back door and left away.

It was Brama Maulana. People called him Bram. He got a big enthusiasm in travelling. Now, he decided to go to Bandung. The situation in his home didn’t make him feel comfortable. He went to the train station that near from his home.

“Oh God, it’s 2 am and I’m outside the house and will go to the place that I’ve never visited before. But, it will be amazing adventure for me.” he was always optimistic about everything he faced. It didn’t matter about bad things.

He came to the train booth to bought a ticket. After that, he looked for seat and waited for the train came. He found out in his cellphone internet about apartments that existed in near station of Bandung.

“Got it! It will be in Braga. Let’s go !” he said. And finally, the train was came and he went into train. 15 minutes after that, the train left.

Bram sat in seat 49C. He sat in front of the woman, young woman with blue jacket and beanie. He started a conversation.

“So cold by the way in here.” He talked with a little shy.

“Oh, yes. I’ve been sitting here about 4 hours. My back is so bit painful.” She replied.

“Where are you going ? why do you go alone ?” he asked her with curious.

“I’m going to Malang. I have to visit my granma. He was passed away yesterday.” She talked with a little sad face.

“Oh, I’m sorry. Be toughful, okay.” Bram replied.

They talked all the way until they slept in their seat each other. The woman left seat when Bram was still slept. Nobody knew where she was. She left with a piece of paper that stored in a little table below a window.

In the different side of life, there was a man that looked for job but he never got. It had been 2 years. He lived alone in the little home at Palasari, Bandung. He lived alone when his parents passed away when he was in junior high school

After Shalat Subuh, he always prayed to God that he had to get a job for surviving his life.

“Amin.”he said, in the end of his pray. He cleaned up his home before he started to find a job.

“It’s 5 am and I have to find a job for now. God, please guide me to best place.” He said with full of hopes.

He went out his home and walking around the city to complete his mission. He walked through a long road. But, in the corner of the street, he met a woman, young woman. She looked so confuse. Irfan asked her.

“May I help you, Ma’am ?” Irfan asked.

“Emm, I’m little bit in confuse. Could you please open this letter and read it for me ?” the woman replied.

Go to Malang right now and you’ll find what you look for. It was written on the letter.

“Should I go now ?” He asked again, and now he was confuse. The woman was dissapeared from his side.

“Oh, God. What’s that ?” He scared.

He went to the Train Station as soon as possible and bought a ticket to Malang. He got the ticket and he had to wait the train came.

“In the name of God, I hope it will the answer of my question for a long time.” He said.

When the train came, he entered and looked for his seat. After walked along carriage of train, he met a man. He sat in front of his seat and asked.

“May I sit here ?” he asked.

“Sure.” A man replied.

Irfan was curious about the paper that held by him. Then Irfan asked his name.

“Hi, Sir. What’s your name ?” Irfan asked.

“Oh, Hallo. I’m Bram.” He replied.

“Why do you have that paper ? I have too. Who gave you that ?” He asked again and showed his paper.

“Oh ya, these are same. When I was in a trip, someone kept it here. So, I tried to believe the paper and going to place that written in the paper.” Bram asked with calm down.

“The woman said that if I go to Malang, I will find my answer about the question for a long time. So, let’s go to Malang !” Irfan replied with energic feeling.

“Okay, let’s start our adventure right now !” Bram joined what Irfan said.

All the way of trip, they talked about their life each other, joked, and laughed about the similarities of the paper that given by the mysterious woman. It was still mystery by the way.

THE END

Reference :

A quote by Lao Tzu

A song titled A Thousand Miles by Vanessa Carlton

Word Count : (924)

Link for work dramatization : https://soundcloud.com/girli-fazri/unexpected-journey

4 thoughts on “Unexpected Journey (Short Story)

  1. The of the story is really a cliffhanger for me. How come Bram will go to Malang? I thought his Train is going to Bandung. Also, i still don’t know what is irfan’s “question for a long time”. I hope you continue your story so that i can know what will happen with Bram and Irfan at Malang.

    Like

  2. The story is kind of interesting, the plot is good and unexpected, but it’s so suddenly so people who read the story need to be careful to catch that. The ending is hanging just like that without any explanation, I think you still need to give an explanation about the similarities on two of them that makes them got the massage, but still a nice story!

    Like

  3. Your short story is an interesting enough. But I feel confuse when you tell about this “I wish I can free from that sound that makes me freaking stress”. Why does the sound can bother him? And why you didn’t explain where the sound was suddenly disappeared. You even tell the other part. I think there are still many parts that you didn’t explain furthermore. Overall, I enjoy to read this story!

    Like

  4. 180410130028/D

    I like the idea of your story, plus you strengten it with some good quotes
    like “a thousand mile journey begins with one step”. Also the beginning of the story is catchy, it makes me curious about what happens next. However the the ending does not feel like an end, I think you can develop the story.

    Like

Leave a Comment

