[Travel Journal] The Most Frightening Moment In My Life

Jorgie Romanov Wattimena

There is one experience which I would consider to be the most unforgettable and most scary in my life. It was the first time I rode on a roller coaster. Why? The fear and anxiety that I felt, is beyond my imagination. It was a beautiful sunny day. I woke up early in the morning. The room that came into view was unfamiliar. “Why could not I recognize my own room?” After a while, I remembered. “I’m in my cousin’s house”, my family and I were staying the night at my family members house at the north of Jakarta.

“We are going to Dufan today!”. My cousin’s voice interrupted my thought. I could sense happiness in her cheerful voice. Shortly after that we were all get ready to Dufan, but before that our family used to prepare food for our lunch. The moment we reached there, as we pass by the entrance gate, my cousin suggested, “Let’s go for a ride on the roller coaster”. “No way, man. I would not want to be scared to death!” I protested, shaking my head from left to right as hard as i could. ”Come on! Mom, can we go?” my cousin asked. ”No! No! No!” I answered. But my cousin did not give in. She begged my mother until my mother said, “Okay go on.” Immediately my knees felt weak as if I cannot stand on my own, without wasting a second, my cousin dragged me to where the roller coaster was. I was really nervous and pale. “Wow!” my cousin cried out loudly. She could not hide her surprise. “This is the biggest roller coaster I have ever seen.” I just smiled a little, and agreed with her in my heart. The big roller coaster that stood in front of me did amaze me. “Hurry up!” shouted my cousin. I followed her unwillingly. I was even more nervous when I saw the sign “CAUTION”. I sat on my seat reluctantly. “Relax and take it easy!” my cousin tried to comfort me but it did not help at all. I nodded obediently and managed to flash her a smile. After a while, I heard a siren that hurt my ears. The siren warned us that the scary trip was about to begin. I shut my eyes tightly. Both my hands seized the seat so tightly that they ached. I guess I was panic. I tried to calm myself down but in vain. I heard people shouting excitedly. They were very eager to begin. Finally, I felt the roller coaster start to move. Slowly at first as it climb up, then the speed escalated faster, faster and faster as it began to pick up speed. I felt my stomach turning upside down. It moved so fast that I nearly fell from my seat. Then I saw the loop in front of us, I felt sweat streaming down my face from my forehead. My heart was beating loudly. I regretted taking a ride on this scary thing. “Please slow down, slow down or I will get a heart attack.” I pleaded in my heart but the roller coaster refused to listen to my pleas. I heard people screaming crazily. It was driving me nuts. The roller coaster swung to the left and then to the right. It swung hard that my head knocked against the front seat. When the roller coaster slid down from the highest peak, it was the most frightening part of the whole trip. My eyes were wide open. My heart stopped beating. I screamed at the top of my voice and my hair was “flying wildly in the air.” The five-minute ride on the roller coaster was like five years to me. My face was as pale as a corpse when I came down from the roller coaster. I buried my face in my hands because I felt the world was spinning. My father and mother rushed towards me when they sensed something was wrong with me. My whole body was trembling and my hands were icy cold. I opened my mouth to speak but nothing came out. From that moment on, whenever people mention roller coaster, a chill runs through my spine. I think that ride on the roller coaster was one of the most unforgettable experience in my life.

Reference: Personal Experience

Word Count: 721 words

Leave a Comment

