Final Writing: Letters from Another Universe (Fiction)

Nadira Noviandita/180410150074

Dear myself in another universe,

In the morning of Valentine’s Day, I received a letter. It was not a love letter from a secret admirer. It was a letter from myself in another universe who lives one year faster in the future. More precisely, a warning.

Here we go.

Part One

February 14, 2014

9:45 AM

I want to tell you a story. Don’t worry, it is short because I know you don’t like boring long stories and that is why you only read short stories. Am I right?

So, I write you a mini journal.

Let’s start here. I had this friend. We. We had this friend. She was my one and only best friend. Her name is Juni Alnilam. I remember the first time she talked to me. It was the first day of school. She was sitting in the back seat in corner of the class. I sit next to her. There is a unique tradition in our school. On the first week since school started we have to wear a name tag with our nickname written on it. After seeing mine, she said we have something in common.

“So your name is Bintang? Is it more like a boy’s name?”

“Yeah, that’s why I don’t really like it.”

“My full name is Juni Alnilam. Alnilam is the name of one of the bright stars in the Belt of Orion. I don’t really like it too. So, I think we are the same. Want to be friends with me?”

I laughed. She sounded like a 6-year-old girl trying to make friends. “Yeah. Why not?”

“I’m gonna call you Karina instead.”

“Sounds good.”

One year passed and we become closer as best friends. Nothing can separate us. Until that boy came into our lives.

Part Two

February 14, 2014

6:30 AM

The school hallway was still quiet. That is why I like to go to school earlier than the others. The air outside was still cool because there are less people who breathe the same air as me in the morning. As usual, I went to the end of the hallway. To my locker. I liked it how my locker is located here. It makes me easily find which one is mine because all of the lockers look the same. When I opened it, I found a letter. I was surprised. It is rare for me to get a letter on Valentine’s Day. I cannot guess who the sender is. I could not tell if all this time I had a secret admirer because it sounds impossible for a girl like me who prefers reading books in local library rather than going to a mall with some friends.

I threw away those secretly-hoping-thoughts and started to read the letter. It was covered in blue envelope with “2014” written on the corner of its front side. I was surprised for the second time. The letter was from a girl. From me.

To Myself in February 14, 2014

If you’re reading this, then my mission is accomplished. Now it is your turn.

I am you from the future. Well, not exactly from the future. It is just the universe I came from has the same space but different time than the universe you are in. Because you live in the past, I’m going to tell you something really important. Actually, we are the same person. We can live the same fate if you want. But I don’t. Because I’ve lived it and if you know what happened, you will think the same thing.

You must be thinking how weird it is, reading a letter from yourself from another universe. Me too.

There will come a time when everything should be changed. But it still depends on you. Please choose wisely if you don’t want something bad to happen.

Meet me again here at 16:00.

Bintang Karina

I didn’t remember sending myself a letter for fun? It was only 6:30 in the morning! This is not a dream. This is not a dream. I kept repeating it in my head. Probably it was only some people doing some pranks on me.

Part Three

February 14, 2014

3:50 PM

“So, I was reading this book called ‘An Infinite Number of Cosmic Love Stories’ and I thought I could share my thoughts after reading this book with you.”

“Where did you find those weird books?” said Juni.

“My dad’s library. He has many books like this. I like it.”

“So what is it about?” Said her with a tone that indicated that she was interested.

“The book is actually a compilation of short stories. Again. It contains a bunch of different love stories with the same characters. A boy and a girl with the same names but different fates. Isn’t that cool?”

“I bet it is the multiverse thing.”

“Yes, it is! And I bet it is real.” I said. It suddenly reminded me of the odd letter I received this morning.

“Nah, there are no such thing. It’s just a work of fiction,” said Juni.

“The universe was born finite, they said. But did you know that actually there are an infinite number of finite universes? So there are infinite numbers of us living different fates and choices.”

“And here I am. Living in the wrong universe.”

“He’ll look at you someday,” I said, trying to make her feel better. But it seems like it didn’t work.

“Or…,” I guessed we were thinking the same thing.

“The love is requited in another universe!”

“Exactly.”

By this conversation, you can tell that Juni likes a boy but he has not noticed her. Not in the universe I came from. This boy’s name is Filan. The good-looking, smart, multitasking basketball captain. But sadly, they don’t know each other. They never talked. She told me that it was her first love and it was the kind of love at first sight. She never tells him her feelings. Not like in Japan, confessing your love to a boy is like a forbidden thing to do by girls in our country. So she never do that.

What about me? Do I have a crush? You will find out right away.

Part Four

February 14, 2014

4:00 PM

I could not seem to find my doppelganger so I opened my locker again and bingo. I was not surprised this time. I still thought this was a prank. Still in the same kind of envelope with the same color, I opened the letter and read it.

To Myself in February 14, 2014

I’m sorry I can’t meet you in this universe. Because we are the same person, we could disappear if we meet in the same space and time. I know this is not convincing so you think that this is a prank.

It’s definitely not.

To sound more convincing, I’m going to tell you something that will blow your mind.

Still remember Dimas? The troubled student who always skip class and get in trouble. He is back from detention. Starting tomorrow he’ll be in your class and sit next to you. You and Juni will become friends with him because there are no other students who wants to be friend with him because he’s dangerous. This boy will change your life. In the universe where I came from, this happened and you have to change it.

Meet me again tomorrow morning at 6. I will tell you how it should works.

Bintang Karina

Part Five

February 14, 2014

6:00 AM

This is insane. That was what I thought after finding myself following what the letters told me to do.

To Myself in February 14, 2014

You know you and Juni will be friends with him. Be friends someone is a good thing right? But this one is not. I won’t tell you what is going to happen because I know you won’t believe it. I’m just going to tell you the only right thing to do.

Leave Juni before Dimas come and only be friends with him.

I know this doesn’t sound right but it’s the only thing you can do to prevent that accident. Because in another universe, you deserve him.

I didn’t need to read the rest of the letter. This was not right and that was not me. Why should I leave my best friend for a troubled guy like him? Because I’m the type of girl who get curious easily, I read the rest of the letter with a little bit of shame and anger. She told me- I told myself to do things I don’t want to do. So I just let everything goes on its own without changing everything.

Part Six

April 19, 2014

Time goes by and the things that is said in the letter like when Juni and I became friends with him was really happened. I still think it was a coincidence. Until the first thing that I can’t believe will happen, really happened. No matter how much I resisted.

You will fall for Dimas.

He is the type of guy who is not too open to people. It made me want to know more about him. Until I found out what was happening to him. What made him become like this. Skipping class, smoking, doing all the things that make him end up in detention. He did that on purpose. Many people who see him from the outside think that he is troubled by the way he looks and behaves. He is actually a kind and caring person. He is funny sometimes.

Even though he often skip class, he is surprisingly smart. That’s why he survived. He skip class to study. Alone. Anywhere. No teacher, with only textbooks and free internet. He doesn’t like to be in his house with those people. I bet at this moment, you already knew because he has told you.

He is the loneliest person I know even though he doesn’t show it. It made me want to be with him. To chase away his loneliness. Or just at least accompany him in his solitude.

Part Seven

May 20, 2014

6:00 AM

To Myself in May 20, 2014

Haven’t seen you in a while.

This is the last letter I sent to you. Today is the day you will feel heartbreak for the first time.

Today, after all this time, you will find out that Dimas falls for Juni. You know exactly that Juni likes Filan. And so does he. Find out a way to separate them.

One of the reasons why he still come home is his mother. Today, when the air is still cold, she’ll pass away.

Today, when the setting sun is on its way home, you will meet him by the bridge near school. Call his name before it’s too late.

The letter was right. I called his name just before he jumped off the bridge.

Part Eight

July 22, 2014

Do you want to know how I separated them?

I made Juni join the cheerleader team so she can talk to the basketball team. It’s not surprising that she successfully got in and win Filan’s heart after two weeks of practice because puberty hit her like a miracle.

And what about Dimas?

After joining the cheerleader team, Juni has spent more time with her teammates but still keeping touch with us. And that made me and Dimas spent more time together. He seems happier now and you can see it in his eyes.

To Myself in July 22, 2014

I hope you have a wonderful day.

One year ahead of you,

Bintang Karina

Word count: 1935 words

Leave a Comment

